Rijeka Crnojevića - About place

Rijeka Crnojevića is one of the best known and oldest places in Riječka nahija, situated on the river with the same name, which makes a delta in Skadar Lake with the Karučka and the Dodoška rivers. This picturesque place will impress you with its unique ambience and quietness. Enjoyment in visiting this place is enhanced by rich gastronomic offer of authentic fish specialties, thematic walks, and kayak ride.

Rijeka Crnojevića is easily reached from the main road Podgorica-Cetinje (at a distance of 30km from Podgorica and 16km from Cetinje). It is situated at very low altitude, so its climate makes it an ideal place for growing citrus fruits, such as figs and pomegranate.

The origin of Rijeka Crnojevića is associated with the ruler of Zeta, Ivan Crnojević (1465-1490) who, in order to avoid Turkish army, established a fortress and a monastery on Obod. The church that belongs to the monastery was devoted to Saint Nicolas. On Obod, Ivan Crnojević carried his residence from fortress Žabljak, and the monastery became the seat of Metropolitanate of Zeta.

In the place itself, remains of historic buildings from the time of Ivan Crnojević, such as a cellar of a destroyed building, have been saved. The building is assumed to be a part of so called Obod printing house, where the first Cyrillic book The First Voice Octoechos was printed in 1494. In addition, the first pharmacy in Montenegro was opened here. At the beginning of the 20th century, in factory “Marica” was produced nacre – mother of pearl fish scales.

During the 19th and at the beginning of the 20th century, Rijeka Crnojevića was the biggest harbour and leading trade centre in Montenegro. At the market-place in Rijeka, people of different faiths and nationalities traded and the goods from all around Montenegro was sold there. Specially valued product of this area was dried bleak for its uniqueness and specific taste, particularly required on Italian tables and paid in gold by Italian merchants.

At the entrance into Rijeka Crnojevića there is a stone bridge, known as “Danilo’s Bridge”. It was built by prince Danilo in 1853 in memory to his father Stanko Petrović. On the left bank of the river, next to the bridge, he also built a one-storey house, known as “Mostina” (most = bridge). This old house has been preserved and has kept its name by now, becoming a recognisable symbol of this area.   

The oldest preserved structure in Rijeka Crnojevića is the house of Saint Petar, whose building started urban look of the settlement and, some time later, formed the street line. In 1873, the house served as a saw-mill, so it could be said that it represents the first industrial structure, too.

For its picturesque and relaxing atmosphere, Rijeka Crnojevića is a shelter and inspiration for many artists who organise art colonies and pleasant gatherings there.